
APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF DESIGNATION/TYPE
Please enter required information, sign and date on the bottom of page 2.   

E-mail form with required documentation and credit card form to  KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov

Medicine & Surgery      Chiropractic        Osteopathic      PodiatryLicense No. 
Current Type:       Active Federal Active Military Exempt Inactive

The effective date CANNOT be a retroactive date and must be a date 
in the future from the date the Board receives your request. Do not 
make any changes to current professional liability insurance or 
KHCSF compliance until a confirmation notice has been issued. 

EFFECTIVE

  I request a license type change to:(check the license type below)

Active: A license issued to a person engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and
surgery, chiropractic or podiatry.  Individuals must maintain and submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of 
continuing education and are required to have professional liability insurance in compliance with Kansas law.  Each active 
license may be renewed annually.   

Please select only ONE type.

1. List in chronological order all professional activities since your license was last Active or initially issued if the license was never
Active (use additional pages if necessary):
From:MO/YR  To:MO/YR Complete Address Position Held

2. If your continuing education is not current, proof of your continuing education hours must be included with your application.
You may verify your continuing education year by reviewing your wallet card or visiting our website www.ksbha.org,
3. Since the last renewal date of your Kansas license, have you:
    Yes had an adverse judgment, award, or settlement resulting from a professional liability claim?No
    Yes had a disciplinary action taken or initiated against you by a state licensing  agency or surrendered or 

consented to limitation of your license to practice in any state?
No

    Yes had any hospital privileges suspended?No
    Yes been found guilty or pled no contest to a felony or Class A misdemeanor?No

Attach documentation and an explanation if your answer is “yes” to any of the above questions.

Home Address:
    Street    City State     Zip

          Middle               Last

E-Mail Address:Home Telephone Number: 

ZipStateCityStreet
Business Address: 

E-Mail Address:

Business          Home 
Business Telephone Number:  

First
Name:

2. PLEASE BE AWARE, all new policies and policies that renew on and after January 1, 2022, K.S.A. 40-3402 requires MD,
DO, DC, DPM and PAs with an active license in Kansas to maintain professional liability insurance of not less than $500,000
per claim, and not less than$1,500,000 annual aggregate for all claims made during the policy period. These professions are also
required to maintain compliance with the Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund (KHCSF). K.S.A. 40-3404; K.S.A.
65-2809(c); K.S.A. 65-2005(d); K.S.A. 65-28a03(b).

If you plan on retiring, please see the Board's webpage on medical records at: 
http://www.ksbha.org/publicinformation/patientrecordlocationinfo.shtml

Preferred Mailing Address:     

800 SW Jackson, Lower Level-Suite A., TOPEKA KS 66612 
Voice:  785-296-7413     Toll Free (Voice/TTY):  1-888-886-7205     Fax:  785-296-0852     Website:  www.ksbha.org

mailto:KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov
http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2012/b2011_12/statute/040_000_0000_chapter/040_034_0000_article/040_034_0002_section/040_034_0002_k/
https://hcsf.kansas.gov/
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0004.html
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch65/065_028_0009.html
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch65/065_020_0005.html
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch65/065_028a_0003.html
https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch65/065_028_0009.html
http://www.ksbha.org/publicinformation/patientrecordlocationinfo.shtml


Federal Active: A license issued to only a person who meets all the requirements for a license to
practice the healing arts in Kansas and who practices that branch of the healing arts solely in the course of employment or active 
duty in the United States government or any of its departments, bureaus or agencies or who, in addition to such employment or 
assignment, provides professional services as a charitable health care provider as defined under K.S.A. 75-6102.  Continuing 
education, expiration, and renewal of a license shall be applicable to a federally active license.  A person who practices under a 
federally active license shall not be deemed to be rendering professional service as a health care provider in this state and is not 
required to have policy of professional liability coverage in effect.    

1. Location of Federal Employment:
State ZipStreet City

Attach documentation and an explanation if your answer is “yes” to any of the above questions.

2. If your continuing education is not current, proof of your continuing education hours must be included with your application.
You may verify your continuing education year by reviewing your wallet card or visiting our website www.ksbha.org.

Name of Employer

4. Since the last renewal date of your Kansas license, have you:
    Yes had an adverse judgment, award, or settlement resulting from a professional liability claim?No
    Yes had a disciplinary action taken or initiated against you by a state licensing  agency or surrendered or 

consented to limitation of your license to practice in any state?
No

    Yes had any hospital privileges suspended?No
    Yes been found guilty or pled no contest to a felony or Class A misdemeanor?No

3. List in chronological order all professional activities since your license was last Active or initially issued if the license was never
Active (use additional pages if necessary):
From:MO/YR  To:MO/YR         Complete Address Position Held

Exempt: A license issued to a person who is not regularly engaged in the practice of the healing arts or podiatry in
Kansas and who does not hold oneself out to the public as being professionally engaged in such practice.  Each exempt license may be 
renewed annually.  The holder of an exempt license is entitled to all the privileges of their branch of the healing arts and (1) may serve 
as a coroner or as a paid employee of a local health department as defined by K.S.A. 65-241; or (2) practice as a charitable health care 
provider for an indigent health care clinic as defined by K.S.A. 75-6102. Additionally, the holder of an exempt license may perform 
administrative functions. The holder of an exempt license shall not be required to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a 
program of continuing education nor are they required to have basic coverage or self-insurance in effect.
 I intend to engage in the following professional activities in Kansas: 

   Consultant    Charitable Health Care Provider
   Coroner/Deputy Coroner   Treatment of Family and Friends with No Compensation    None

   Other: 

Inactive: A license issued to a person who is not regularly engaged in the practice of the healing arts in
Kansas and who does not hold oneself out to the public as being professionally engaged in such practice.  An inactive license 
shall not entitle the holder to practice the healing arts in this state.  Each inactive license may be renewed annually.  The holder 
of an inactive license shall not be required to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education 
and is not required to have basic coverage or self-insurance in effect solely because such person is no longer engaged in 
rendering professional service as a health care provider. 

Fees: Please complete the credit card authorization form or make your check payable to Kansas State Board of Healing Arts.

Current Type of Active or Federal Active changing to any type: No Fee 
Military changing to Active or Federal Active: $330
Military changing to Exempt or Inactive: $150 
Exempt or Inactive changing to Exempt or Inactive: No Fee 
Exempt or Inactive changing to Active or Federal Active: $175 

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided on this form, including 
supporting documentation is true and correct and that I am licensed to practice in the State of Kansas. 

Signature Date

7/1/2022

   Administration

 I acknowledge by marking the check box, with an exempt license I will not be a health care provider as defined by K.S.A. 
40-3401, that I am not required to maintain professional liability insurance in accordance with K.S.A. 40-3401 and that
services I render while a holder of an exempt license will not be insured or covered by the Health Care Stabilization Fund.



Kansas State Board of Healing Arts 
800 SW Jackson – Lower Level, Suite A., Topeka, KS 66612 

Phone: (785) 296-7413; Fax (785) 368-7102; Email: KSBHA_HealingArts@ks.gov 
www.ksbha.org  11/19/2021 

CREDIT/DEBIT CARD PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION FORM 

Submit the completed form to the Board. Payments are processed in order of date received. 

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION: 

APPLICANT/LICENSEE INFORMATION: 

Name of Applicant/Licensee: License Number: 

By signing below, I certify and give permission to the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts to charge the 
above-mentioned amount. I understand that failure to submit the required information will delay processing 
of the payment. 

______________________________________________ _________________________ 
Cardholder Signature   Date 

Please note: The information on this form is considered personal and not subject to disclosure under the Kansas Open 
Records Act.  

Card Type: 

Card Number:  

Expiration Date: (MM/YY)       Verification Code: 

Purpose of Payment:  
(Application, NPDB, KBI, Verification of License Fee, etc.) To view license Fee List, click here. Amount: 

Name of Cardholder: 

Mailing Address 

Street Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone: Email: 

mailto:KSBHA_HealingArts@ks.gov
http://www.ksbha.org/
http://www.ksbha.org/departments/licensing/licensefeelists.shtml
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