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Licensure Verification 

Healthcare Employment/Professional History: In chronological order, list all healthcare employment/professional 
history since the cancelation of your Kansas License. Attach additional page if necessary. Include actual work address, not 
corporate headquarters. 
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charge by credit/debit card using the attached authorization form
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9. Continuing Education: Include proof of completion of continuing education as required by K.A.R. 100-29-10, if 
applicable. 
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EXPEDITED LICENSURE QUESTIONNAIRE 

To determine if you are eligible for expedited licensure pursuant to K.S.A. 48-3406i, please answer the following 
questions. If it is determined that your responses were intentionally false or misleading, you will be subject to an 
administrative disciplinary action in Kansas and will be reported to all appropriate state/federal/military/law 
enforcement agencies.  

1. Are you a current member of any branch of the United States armed services, United States military reserves,
national guard of any state, or a former member with an honorable discharge? Yes __ No __ If yes:

Branch:__________________  Dates of Service:___________________  Military ID#:____________________

2. Are you the spouse of a current member of any branch of the United States armed services, United States military
reserves, national guard of any state, or a former member with an honorable discharge? Yes__ No__ If yes:

Branch:__________________  Dates of Service:___________________  Military ID#:____________________

3. Do you currently reside in Kansas? Yes__ No__ If yes:

Current Kansas Residence Address:________________________________________________________

4. If you do not currently reside in Kansas, do you intend* to establish residency in Kansas within the next 6 months?
*If you answer “yes” to this question but do not establish Kansas residency within the next 6 months, your Kansas 
license will be cancelled. If it is determined that your answer to this question was intentionally false or
misleading, you will be subject to an administrative disciplinary action in Kansas and will be reported to all
appropriate state/federal/military agencies in other jurisdictions. Yes __ No __ If yes:

Intended Kansas Residence Address:_______________________________________________________ 

Expected Date of Commencing Residence:_____________ 

If you answered “no” to all questions #1 through #4, you do not need to answer 
questions #5 through #7. 

5. Are you currently licensed, registered, or certified to practice (the profession for which you are seeking licensure in
Kansas) by another state, district, or territory of the United States and have worked under that license for at least 1
year. This does not include certifications or registrations issued by private boards, professional societies, or any
organization other than a government body of a state, district, or territory of the U.S. Yes__ No__ If no:

a. Have you practiced the profession for which you are seeking licensure in Kansas for at least 3 years in a state
that does not license/register/certify the profession? Yes __ No__

b. Have you practiced the profession for which you are seeking licensure in Kansas for at least 2 years in a state
that does not license/register/certify the profession and you held a certification or registration issued by a private
organization during those 2 years? Yes__ No__ If yes:

Organization that issued private certification/registration: _____________________ Date Issued: __________
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* “Active practice” does not include care provided while in a training program, residency, or fellowship; or
employment that consisted solely of research activities or administrative duties. The Board generally
considers active practice to be direct patient care that for either (1) at least one full day per week for 50 weeks 
during a year; or (2) 400 hours during a year. 

6. Have you actively practiced* the profession for which you are seeking licensure in Kansas during the last 2 years?
Yes__ No__

If you answered “yes” to question #6, you do not need to answer question #7. 

7. If you answered “No” to questions #6, please provide a detailed explanation regarding your active clinical practice
and direct patient care during the 12 months immediately preceding the submission of your application. Please
explain any gaps in active practice in the 12 months immediately preceding the submission for your application,
including the amount of time and reason.

i An applicant who has not been in the active practice of their occupation during the two years preceding the application for 
which a license is sought, may be required to complete additional testing, training, monitoring or continuing education as the 
KSBHA deems necessary to establish present ability to practice in a manner that protects the health and safety of the public 
K.S.A. 48-3406(d).   
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ATTESTATION QUESTIONS 

Please answer each of the following questions. All “yes” answers MUST be thoroughly explained in 
detail on a separate signed page. You are required to furnish complete details including date, place, 
reason, and disposition of the matter and attach all relevant documentation. All information received will 
be checked accordingly to verify the truth and veracity of your answers. It is imperative you honestly and 
fully answer all questions, regardless of whether you believe the information requested is relevant. 

If you are unsure of your response to a question, check the “yes” box and submit the appropriate 
documentation. Your responses on your application are evaluated as evidence of your candor and honesty. 
An honest “yes” answer to a question on your application is not definitive as to the Boards' assessment of 
your present moral character and fitness, but a dishonest “no” answer is evidence of a lack of candor and 
honesty. Please be advised that a false response to any of these questions may be grounds for denial of 
licensure. If a question is not applicable, then check the “no” box. 

______________________________________________  ________________________ 
Full Name of Applicant Date 

1. Have you ever been dropped, suspended, expelled, fined, placed on probation, allowed to
resign, requested to leave temporarily or permanently, or otherwise had action taken
against you by any professional training program, excluding academic probation in
medical school, prior to completing the training?

Yes ___ No ___ 

2. Have you ever had any application for any professional license, registration, or certificate
denied by any licensing authority?

Yes ___ No ___ 

3. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination required for any
professional license, registration, or certificate?

Yes ___ No ___ 

4. While working in a healthcare facility as a staff member (including postgraduate training)
did you ever have your privileges censured, limited, suspended, revoked, or received
other disciplinary action?

Yes ___ No ___ 

5. While working in a healthcare facility as a staff member (including postgraduate training)
did you ever voluntarily or involuntarily resign while under investigation?

Yes ___ No ___ 

6. Have you ever been denied privileges with any health care facility? Yes ___ No ___ 

7. Have you ever been requested to resign, withdraw, or otherwise terminate your position
with a partnership, professional association, corporation, or other practice organization,
either public or private?

Yes ___ No ___ 

8. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any professional license registration, or certificate,
in lieu of formal disciplinary proceedings?

Yes ___ No ___ 

9. Has any licensing authority ever limited, suspended, revoked, censured or placed you on
probation, or have you had any other disciplinary action taken against any professional
license, registration, or certificate you have held?

Yes ___ No ___ 

10. Have you ever been requested to appear before a licensing authority? Yes ___ No ___ 
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11. To your knowledge, have any complaints or charges ever been filed against you, or are 
you currently under investigation, with any licensing agency, professional association, or 
health care facility? 

Yes ___ No ___ 

12. Has any professional association imposed any disciplinary action against you? 
 

Yes ___ No ___ 

13. Do you currently have any physical or mental health condition (including alcohol or 
substance use) that impairs your ability to practice your profession in a competent, ethical, 
and professional manner? 
 

Yes ___ No ___ 

14. Have you ever been denied a Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) or state bureau of 
narcotics or controlled substance registration certificate? 

 

Yes ___ No ___ 

15. Have you ever had your Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) or state bureau of 
narcotics or controlled substance registration revoked, suspended, or restricted in any way, 
or surrendered in lieu of formal proceedings? 
 

Yes ___ No ___ 

16. Have you ever been arrested? You must include all arrests including those that have been 
set aside, dismissed, expunged, pardoned, or where a stay of execution has been issued. 

 

Yes ___ No ___ 

17. Have you ever been charged with a crime, indicted, convicted of a crime, imprisoned, or 
placed on probation? You must include those that have been set aside, dismissed, 
pardoned, or expunged, or where a stay of execution has been issued. 

 

Yes ___ No ___ 

18. Have you ever been court martialed or dishonorably discharged from the armed services? 
 

Yes ___ No ___ 

19. Have you ever been a defendant in a legal action involving professional liability 
(malpractice), or had a professional liability claim paid in your behalf, or paid such claim 
yourself? 

 

Yes ___ No ___ 

20. Have you ever been denied participation in any State Medicaid or Federal Medicare 
Programs, or in a private insurance company? 

 

Yes ___ No ___ 

21. Have you ever been terminated, sanctioned, penalized, or had to repay money to any state 
or federal Medicaid or Medicare Programs, or private insurance company? 
 

Yes ___ No ___ 

 
*It is your continued duty to update the Board on any changes once the application has been submitted.* 
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AFFIDAVIT AND AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
Applicant: in the presence of a notary public, sign and date this form with attached photo.  

Email to KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov or mail it directly to the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. 

I, the undersigned, being duly sworn, hereby certify under oath that I am the person named in this application, that all statements I 
have made or shall make with respect thereto are true, that I am the original and lawful possessor of and person named in the 
various forms and credentials furnished or to be furnished with respect to my application, and that all documents, forms, or copies 
thereof furnished or to be furnished with respect to my application are strictly true in every aspect. 

I acknowledge that I have read and understand the application for Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Licensure and 
have answered all questions contained in the application truthfully and completely. I further acknowledge that failure on my part 
to answer questions truthfully and completely may lead to my being prosecuted under appropriate federal and state laws. 

I authorize and request every person, hospital, clinic, government agency (local, state, federal, or foreign), court, association, 
institution, or law enforcement agency having custody or control of any documents, records, and other information pertaining to 
me to furnish to the Board any such information, including documents, records regarding charges or complaints filed against me, 
formal or informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent data, and to permit the Board or any of its agents or representatives to 
inspect and make copies of such documents, records, and other information in connection with this application. 

I hereby release, discharge, and exonerate the Board, its agents or representatives, and any person, hospital, clinic, government 
agency (local, state, federal, or foreign), court, association, institution, or law enforcement agency having custody or control of any 
documents, records, and other information pertaining to me of any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of 
investigation made by the Board. 

I will immediately notify the Board in writing of any changes to the answers to any of the questions contained in this application if 
a change occurs any time prior to a license to practice Physical Therapy being granted to me by the Board. 

I understand my failure to answer questions contained in this application truthfully and completely may lead to denial, revocation, 
or other disciplinary sanction of my license to practice Physical Therapy.  

 ________________________________________________________________ 
  Applicant’s signature (must be signed in the presence of a notary) 

                     _______________________________________________________________________ 
                              Applicant’s printed last name, first name, middle initial, and suffix (e.g., Jr.) 

                                                                 _______________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                 Date of signature (must correspond to date of notarization) 

 [Please note: The notary must be clearly visible when submitting electronically] 

 NOTARY 

State of ____________________________, County of _________________________, 
I certify that on the date set forth below, the individual named above did appear personally before me and that I did identify this 
applicant by: (a) comparing his/her physical appearance with the photograph on the identifying document presented by the 
applicant and with the photograph affixed hereto, and (b) comparing the applicant’s signature made in my presence on this form 
with the signature on his/her identifying document.  

The statements on this document are subscribed and sworn to before me by the applicant on this ______day of ______, 20______ 

Notary Public Signature ___________________________________ My Notary Commission Expires ______________________ 

Applicant 
Photograph 

Attach a 2 x 3- inch color 
photograph of applicant, with head 

and shoulder areas only, taken 
within the last 90 days. 
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KANSAS PHYSICAL THERAPIST JURISPRUDENCE EXAM (PTs Only) 

All Physical Therapist: Compete the jurisprudence exam and return it with your application. Answers are available 
in the Physical Therapy Statute and Regulation Handbook. 

______________________________________________ ________________________ 
Full Name of Applicant   Date 

1. Which is NOT part of Kansas Statute 65-2901, (hereafter called the Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act),
definition of physical therapy?

a. Examining, evaluating and testing individuals
b. Alleviating impairments, functional limitations and disabilities
c. The practice of any branch of the healing arts
d. Fabrication of orthotics, debridement and wound care, manual therapy.

2. Which professional designation is not legal for introductions or business cards/public address in Kansas?
a. Dr. Jane Doe, physical therapist
b. Jane Doe, PT, DPT
c. Dr. Jane Doe, DPT
d. Dr. Jane Doe

3. Which is NOT part of obtaining a temporary permit to practice in Kansas?
a. Submission of an application on a form sent to the Board of Healing Arts
b. Meeting all requirements for licensure as a physical therapist (PT), or certification as a physical

therapist assistant (PTA)
c. Payment of a temporary permit fee, which expires three months after date of issue
d. Obtaining additional temporary permits

4. Which is NOT one of the requirements for licensure renewal applications?
a. 20 continuing educational hours for PTs and 10 for PTAs every two years.
b. Notice of conviction of felony, fraud, incompetence, or unprofessional conduct.
c. Updates to the Board of Healing Arts on correct address and work setting within 30 days of change
d. Proof of professional liability insurance policy, except for inactive license

5. Which is NOT one of the reasons licenses may be refused or sanctioned, suspended or limited?
a. Failure to refer patients to other providers if symptoms are beyond physical therapy scope of practice
b. Addiction to, or distribution of, intoxicating liquors or drugs for other than lawful purposes
c. Knowingly submitting any deceptive or untrue claim, bill or statement
d. Treating human beings as authorized by the Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act

6. Which would NOT be considered unprofessional conduct that results in a sanction of license?
a. Failing to provide adequate supervision to a PTA or other person who performs services pursuant

to delegation by a physical therapist.
b. Promising a patient a permanent cure for an incurable disease, condition or injury.
c. Changing jobs too frequently.
d. Advertising a guarantee of any professional physical therapy service.

7. What is NOT part of the definition of unprofessional conduct?
a. Charging excessive fees for services performed
b. Treating two or more patients at one time
c. Providing treatment unwarranted by the patient's condition or continuing beyond reasonable benefit
d. Committing any act of sexual abuse or misconduct
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8. Supervision of a PTA by a PT includes all of the following EXCEPT: 
a. Notification by the PTA to the Board of Healing Arts of each supervising PT's name and license 

number 
b. On-site personal supervision of aides, technicians, or paraprofessionals by the PT, or PTA under the 

direction of the PT, being immediately available to support personnel. 
c. Support personnel may be delegated skilled professional care of patients beyond basic "tasks" if 

given on-site instructions 
d. Consideration of the education, training, experience and skill level of the physical therapist assistant 

 
9. The Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act specifically states that the supervising physical therapist must 

supervise each physical therapist assistant working under his or her direction and supervision.  How often 
must the physical therapist see each patient treated by the physical therapist assistant? 

a. A minimum of every 30 days 
b. A minimum of every two weeks 
c. A minimum of weekly 
d. Neither the Statutes nor the Rules and Regulations specify a specific time frame, except when a 

PTA initiates treatment after phone consultation with the PT 
 

10. The Kansas State Board of Healing Arts can now impose a fine on a Physical therapist for a first offense not 
to exceed: 

a. $100 
b. $5,000 
c. $10,000 
d. $500 

 
11. Under the Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act, which of the following are NOT within the scope of 

physical therapy practice? 
a. Laser surgery 
b. Anodyne treatment 
c. Electromyography 
d. Nerve conduction velocity testing 

 
12. Physical therapists can evaluate and treat, without a referral from a licensed care professional, in all cases 

EXCEPT: 
a. Wound debridement 
b. Employees solely for the purpose of work-place injury prevention 
c. Special education students as part of an IEP or IFSP 
d. In a hospital outpatient PT department 

 
13. Physical therapists may evaluate and treat a patient, without a referral from a licensed health care 

professional, for no more than 10 visits or 15 business days after initial treatment EXCEPT: 
a. Patient was provided written diagnosis that physical therapist cannot make "medical diagnosis" 
b. In a hospital outpatient physical therapy department 
c. Patient has demonstrated objective, measurable or functional improvement 
d. All of the above 

 
14. Which statement is a description of an appropriate activity for a PTA? 

a. Interpretation of a referral, followed by performance and documentation of initial examination, 
testing, evaluation, diagnosis, and prognosis 

b. Provision of physical therapy treatment interventions following an established plan of care 
c. Development or modification of a plan of care that is based on a reexamination of the patient or 

client that includes the physical therapy goals for intervention 
d. Documentation of the patient's discharge summary 
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15. Physical therapists are required to countersign notes written by physical therapists and physical therapist 
assistants who are working under a temporary permit. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
16. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants who have temporary permits must have direct supervision 

by a licensed physical therapist until they pass the appropriate PT or PTA national examination. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
17. According to the Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act, physical therapists are not allowed to delegate parts 

of the skilled physical therapy treatment to physical therapy aides. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
18. Physical therapist assistants can write the discharge summary for a patient (e.g., a summary of treatments, 

patient progress, goals met, prognosis for further increase in function, etc.). 
a. True 
b. False 

 
19. Physical therapists are required to carry malpractice insurance in the amount of 1 million/3 million. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
20. In a sports medicine clinic, it is appropriate for a physical therapist assistant who is also an athletic trainer to 

evaluate and treat a patient and bill for it as physical therapy. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
21. If I know a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant is practicing unethically or illegally, and do 

nothing about it, I am in violation of the Kansas Physical Therapy Practice Act. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
22. According to Kansas Rules and Regulations, it would be considered unprofessional conduct for a PTA to 

allow his/her patients to refer to him/her as “my physical therapist”. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
23. It is unprofessional conduct for a physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant to refer a patient or a 

client to a health care entity for services if the PT or PTA has a significant investment interest in the health 
care entity, unless the patient/client is informed in writing of the significant investment interest and that the 
patient/client can obtain services elsewhere. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
24. The PT Advisory Council currently consists of three PTs, a physician, and a member of the Kansas State 

Board of Healing Arts. 
a. True 
b. False 

 
25. Physical therapists may provide services without a referral to special education students who need physical 

therapy services to fulfill the provisions of their individualized education plan or individualized family 
service plan. 

a. True 
b. False 
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LICENSE VERIFICATION FORM 

Send to all states or jurisdictions in which you currently, or have ever, held a license, permit, or 
certification, permanent or temporary. Verification fees may be applicable and are the applicant’s 
responsibility. Please contact individual boards to confirm fees. The applicant should complete the top 
section. The official state board should complete the bottom section and email to 
KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov or mail it directly to the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. 

I, hereby authorize and request the state Board of _________________________________ having 
control of any documents, records, and other information pertaining to me to furnish to the Kansas State 
Board of Healing Arts information including documents and/or records regarding charges or complaints 
filed against me or my license/registration; informal, pending, closed or any other pertinent information. 

Full Name: ___________________________________________________________________________ 

Other Names Used (if applicable): _______________________________     Date of Birth: _______________ 

License or Registration No.: ____________________________________    Issue Date: _______________ 

Profession: ___________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature: _________________________________________________     Date:____________________ 

Full Name of Licensee or Registrant: _______________________________________________________ 

License or Registration No.: _____________________________  Status: ____________________ 

Issue Date: ________________ Expiration Date: ________________ 

License Method: _________________________ School: ________________________________ 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS: 
Is the applicant currently the subject of a pending investigation by a licensing or disciplinary authority in 

your state?   Yes ___   No ___ Unable to Divulge ___ 

Have formal disciplinary proceedings been initiated against the applicant or applicant’s license or 

registration by a disciplinary authority in your state?  Yes ___  No ___ Unable to Divulge ___ 

Comments: ____________________________________________________________________ 

Signature: ___________________________________   (SEAL) 

Title: _______________________________________

State Board of: _______________________________ 

Date: _______________ 
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THIRD PARTY RELEASE 

If you would like the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (“Board”) staff to talk with third parties about 
your application complete this form. This form provides authorization for the Board to release information 
regarding your application to third parties. This information includes, but is not limited to: application 
information, license verification, status change, address changes, Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund 
information, continuing education information, audit information, and past or current legal issues and 
documents. This authorization expires one year from the date of signature. You can revoke this 
authorization at any time by submitting a request in writing. Revoking this authorization will not affect any 
action taken prior to receipt of your written request. A reproduction of this authorization shall have the 
same effect as the original. Email to KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov or mail it directly to the Board. 

I, ______________________________________, authorize Board staff to release and discuss any and all 
information pertaining to my application, with the following individuals: 

1. Name: ___________________________________ 

Phone: ___________________________________ 

Email: ___________________________________ 

Relationship: ___________________________________ 

2. Name: ___________________________________ 

Phone: ___________________________________ 

Email: ___________________________________ 

Relationship: ___________________________________ 

I acknowledge by my signature, that although I am not required to authorize the Board to release 
information to third parties, I am giving my consent for Board staff to do so. Additionally, I understand that 
I may revoke this authorization in writing at any time, except for that information which has already been 
released with consent, prior to my revocation. 

______________________________________________ ________________________ 
Signature of Applicant  Date 
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All applicants  a $3 report fee for the Board to obtain the 

NPDB report.

Change of Address

 

 
 

Request verification from states, countries,or jurisdictions, if applicable 
D for Attestation Questions
Proof of Continuing Education, if applicable
Complete Expedited Licensure Questionnaire

 
Affidavit and Authorization  

 
. PTs only

Notarize and sign copy of the Affidavit and Authorization 
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CREDIT/DEBIT CARD PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION FORM 

Email the completed form to KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov or mail directly to the Board. Payments are processed 
in order of date received. 

Name of Applicant/Licensee: License Number: 

Purpose of Payment: Amount: 
 (Application, NPDB Fee, KBI Fee, Verification of Licensure, etc.) 

Name of Cardholder: 

Billing Address 

Street Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone: Email: 

*Do not add spaces or dashes to numbers

By signing below, I certify and give permission to the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts to charge the above-
mentioned amount. I understand that failure to submit the required information will delay processing of the 
payment. 

______________________________________________ _________________________ 
Cardholder Signature Date 

Card Type: 

Card Number:  

Expiration Date: (MM/YY) Verification Code: 

Please note: The information on this form is considered personal and not subject to disclosure under the Kansas Open 
Records Act. 
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