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PURPOSE:   
 
The purpose of this policy is to provide health care professionals guidance when closing or leaving 
a health care practice. Health care professionals may leave practice for various reasons however, 
continuity of care for their patients is critical. This policy is intended to be a guidance document 
under K.S.A. 77-438.1 
 
AUTHORITY:  
 
K.S.A. 77-438; K.S.A. 65-28,126; K.S.A. 65-6836; K.A.R. 100-24-2; K.A.R. 100-24-3.  
 
POLICY/PROCEDURE:  
 
It is the policy of the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (“Board”) that any health care 
professional closing or leaving a health care practice should notify patients and stakeholders in the 
practice and preserve copies of patient records. 
 
Health care professionals who are leaving a practice and transitioning to another are required to 
notify the Board of the new practice address within 30 days of leaving their current practice. The 
form to notify the Board can be found here. 
 
Health care professionals who are ceasing and closing practice must preserve copies of patient 
records2 and the Board must be provided with the following: 
 

1. The location where patient records are stored (or means of access to any electronic data). 
2. If an agent is designated to maintain patient records, the name, telephone number, and 

mailing address of the agent. 
3. The date on which the patient records are scheduled to be destroyed. 

 
The form to notify the Board can be found on our website here. 
 
 

 
1 This document is intended to provide general guidance for health care professionals. When closing or leaving a 
health care practice, the Board strongly recommends seeking independent legal counsel. 
  
2 Including electronic records, photocopies, etc. See K.A.R. 100-24-2. 

http://www.ksbha.org/forms/licensure/Address%20Change%20Request.pdf
http://www.ksbha.org/publicinformation/patientrecordlocationinfo.shtml
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Patient records: 
 
Patient records are protected against unauthorized disclosure under both Kansas and federal law.3 
Additionally, patient records must be maintained and properly secured for a minimum of ten years 
from the date the professional service was rendered. 
 
Notification to patients: 
 
All patients should be notified of: (1) the intended closing date of the practice; (2) their right to 
obtain their health records; and (3) how to obtain their health records. If a patient requests their 
health records, the records must be provided to them within 30 days or the patient must be given a 
reason the records are unavailable. The patient should also be provided with the name of the 
records custodian and their contact information. 
 
Notification to other stakeholders: 
 
Health care professionals who are closing a practice must notify the following parties:4 
 

• Kansas Board of Pharmacy (if applicable) 
• Kansas Department of Health and Environment (if facility is closing) 
• Medicare/Medicaid (if applicable) 
• Drug Enforcement Administration (if surrendering DEA license) 
• Kansas Secretary of State (if practice is closing) 

 
This list identifies common legal requirements for notification under state and federal law. It is not 
an exhaustive list of notification requirements or of stakeholders in a health care practice. 
 
Insurance: 
 
Continuation of professional liability coverage or “tail coverage” is provided through the Kansas 
Healthcare Stabilization Fund (“KHCSF”) for certain license types. For more information 
regarding which license types must comply with and are covered by the KHCSF, please see the 
Practice Handbooks on the KSBHA website.5 
 
Approved by the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts on this 13th day of October 2023. 
 
 
 
 

 
3 See K.S.A 65-6823; Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPAA”) 45 C.F.R. § 160 and Subparts 
A and E of § 164. 
 
4 See, e.g., K.A.R. 68-20-14(B), K.A.R. 28-34-16a(c), 42 C.F.R. § 422.111(e), 21 C.F.R. § 1301.52, K.S.A. 17-
7675(a). 
 
5 See also K.S.A. 40-3424 et seq. 

http://www.ksbha.org/practicehandbooks.shtml
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